1 - 25 of 95 Works in Episode Review

Pages Navigation

Listing Works

  1. Tags
    Summary

    Panels at the James Marsters Con at the Queen Mary in Long Beach.

    Originally posted September 14, 2006

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    2,138
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  2. Tags
    Summary

    My friend was amused when I described Younger as "milk and cookies." It's a show that has a fairly simple setup with a central secret (the lead character Liza is 15 years older than she pretends to be), and an ongoing set of characters with no major dramas in their lives. It has neither particularly good nor particularly bad writing, but set in the NYC publishing industry as it is, I daresay it has very little resemblance to the reality. So while I wasn't all that engaged with it, it was one of those shows that's easy to watch if one is doing other things.

    That is until S4 Ep5, "The Gift of the Maggie." In short, this episode was all about appropriation and the view of fans was pretty infuriating.

    Originally posted August 25, 2018

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    2,102
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  3. Tags
    Summary

    As Merlin comes to a close, one can look back at the series and see how it did and didn't fulfill its promise. It also makes for an interesting comparison with the first 5 seasons of Supernatural, which also set up a story about destiny.

    Originally posted May 18, 2013

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    883
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  4. Tags
    Summary

    Originally posted September 18, 2010

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    21,399
    Chapters:
    25/?
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0
  5. Tags
    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    18,077
    Chapters:
    24/24
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    19
  6. Tags
    Summary

    Originally posted February 1, 2008.

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    440
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0
  7. Tags
    Summary

    The final episodes of S3, which ended up being the end of the Veronica Mars series, just left more questions.

    Originally posted February 21 - March 16, 2007

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    1,331
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  8. Tags
    Summary

    Watching the Gilmore Girls return to TV was a letdown. It's been several years since I saw the series, but since I watched it well after it finished it hasn't been gone that long for me. And strangely, the characters don't seem to have moved on that much, which I grew to believe was intentional.

    Originally posted December 12, 2016

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    2,139
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0
  9. Tags
    Summary

    So the finale came to its inevitable conclusion in much the way the series made its way throughout all its seasons. Some stuff was really enjoyable, a lot was inexplicable, and it was largely underdeveloped.

    Originally posted June 3, 2013

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    2,046
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  10. Tags
    Summary

    I had two major issues with it. And both these issues tied into a complete tone-deafness to character development.

    Originally posted May 8, 2013

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    962
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  11. Tags
    Summary

    All in all, I liked the two-parter finale. It seems there's always some dramatic battle for those. And it was an important season in many ways with Arthur actually becoming king, Guenevere's crowning, Lancelot's death (and return), and the reveal of Excalibur.

    Originally posted March 31, 2012

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    1,214
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  12. Tags
    Summary

    I found this to be one of the more enjoyable episodes of the season. Although there are some inexplicable things in it, for the most part it seems well thought through in terms of themes and conflicts.

    Originally posted March 10, 2012

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    1,360
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  13. Tags
    Summary

    I was pleasantly surprised by Merlin 4.3. To start with, it would have been easy to make such an anticipated episode underwhelming. But I also have thoughts about how well Merlin and Arthur will ever be able to work together.

    Originally posted January 25, 2012

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    1,695
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  14. Tags
    Summary

    Having read over the early SPN Pilot draft, I have some general observations and comments about the differences between the original series concept and the pilot we actually saw.

    Originally posted September 2, 2007

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    1,903
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  15. Tags
    Summary

    Part meta/part review of the iZombie episodes through 1.10.

    Originally posted April 18 and May 25, 2015

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    1,358
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0
  16. Tags
    Summary

    I decided to do a brief discussion of the episodes I thought were most impressive from a writing standpoint. They're not necessarily the most significant, or my favorite episodes (as there are some more flawed stories I quite enjoyed) but I do think they're the best put-together.

    So for S5 my three choices are:

    Originally posted September 19, 2010

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    1,338
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Kudos:
    1
    Hits:
    2
  17. Tags
    Summary

    I decided to do a brief discussion of the episodes I thought were most impressive from a writing standpoint. They're not necessarily the most significant, or my favorite episodes (as there are some more flawed stories I quite enjoyed) but I do think they're the best put-together.

    So for S4 my three choices are:

    Originally posted October 23, 2009

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    2,490
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0
  18. Tags
    Summary

    I decided to do a brief discussion of the episodes I thought were most impressive from a writing standpoint. They're not necessarily the most significant, or my favorite episodes (as there are some more flawed stories I quite enjoyed) but I do think they're the best put-together.

    So for S3 my choices are:

    Originally posted May 29, 2008

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    3,239
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0
  19. Tags
    Summary

    I decided to do a brief discussion of the episodes I thought were most impressive from a writing standpoint. They're not necessarily the most significant, or my favorite episodes (as there are some more flawed stories I quite enjoyed) but I do think they're the best put-together.

    For S2 my three choices are:

    Nightshifter (Ben Edlund)
    In My Time of Dying (Eric Kripke)
    Bloodlust (Sera Gamble)

    Originally posted November 28, 2007

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    4,440
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0
  20. Tags
    Summary

    I decided to do a brief discussion of the episodes I thought were most impressive from a writing standpoint. They're not necessarily the most significant, or my favorite episodes (as there are some more flawed stories I quite enjoyed) but I do think they're the best put-together.

    So for S1 my three choices are:

    Faith (Gamble and Tucker)
    Devil's Trap (Eric Kripke)
    Nightmare (Gamble and Tucker)

    Originally posted November 26, 2007

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    1,995
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    15
  21. Tags
    Summary

    Originally posted: April 30, 2011/May 7, 2011/May 29, 2011

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    15,838
    Chapters:
    32/?
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  22. Tags
    Summary

    Originally posted December 11, 2010.

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    4,437
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0
  23. Tags
    Summary

    Originally posted December 4, 2010.

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    5,361
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    1
  24. Tags
    Summary

    Originally posted November 20, 2010.

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    2,994
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0
  25. Tags
    Summary

    Originally posted November 13, 2010.

    Series
    Language:
    English
    Words:
    4,252
    Chapters:
    1/1
    Collections:
    1
    Hits:
    0

Filters

Filter results:
Submit

Include

?
Include Ratings
Include Warnings
Include Categories
Include Fandoms
Include Characters
Include Relationships
Include Additional Tags

Exclude

?
Exclude Ratings
Exclude Warnings
Exclude Categories
Exclude Fandoms
Exclude Characters
Exclude Relationships
Exclude Additional Tags

More Options

Crossovers
Completion Status
Word Count
Date Updated
Submit

Pages Navigation